McTavish named MVP

McTavish named MVP

The Worldwide Ice Hockey Federation has introduced the winners of the person awards and the event all-star crew after the gold medal recreation of the 2022 IIHF World Junior Championship.

With Canada’s gold medal-winning crew, Mason McTavish was named MVP and Greatest Ahead and likewise made the event all-star crew. The 19-year-old captain, who captured gold on the 2021 U18 Worlds and performed on the 2022 Olympics, received the World Junior scoring title (8+9=17).

McTavish equalled the Canadian single-game targets file by scoring 4 occasions in an 11-1 win over Slovakia. He fell only one level shy of the Canadian file for factors in a event (18), shared by Dale McCourt (1977) and Brayden Schenn (2011).

IIHF Directorate Awards
Greatest Goalkeeper: Jesper Wallstedt, Sweden
Greatest Defender: Kasper Puutio, Finland
Greatest Ahead: Mason McTavish, Canada

Media All-Star Group & MVP
Goalkeeper: Jesper Wallstedt, Sweden
Defender: Olen Zellweger, Canada
Defender: Emil Andrae, Sweden
Ahead: Mason McTavish, Canada
Ahead: Joakim Kemell, Finland
Ahead: Jan Mysak, Czechia
Most Helpful Participant: Mason McTavish, Canada